St Vincent de Paul
Member Login
Telephone Directory
Important Links
Diocese of Satna

Diocese of Satna

The Apostolic Exarchate of Satna of the Syro Malabar Rite was erected by the Papal Bull 'In more est' dated July 29, 1968 and was entrusted to the Vincentian Congregation.  It comprises six civil districts in Madhya Pradesh, bifurcated from the diocese of Jabalpur, namely Satna, Chhatarpur, Tikamgarh, Panna, Rewa and Siddhi.  The Exarchate was made 'Suffragan ad instar' to the Archdiocese of Bhopal.  Rt. Rev. Msgr. Abraham D. Mattam, VC, was nominated as its first Apostolic Exarch.

On February 26, 1977, by the Papal Bull 'Ecclesiarum Orientalium' of Pope Paul VI, the Exarchate was raised to the rank of an Eparchy (Diocese).  Rt. Rev. Msgr. Abraham D. Mattam, VC, was appointed the first Bishop of Satna. He served the diocese for thirty two years in his capacity both as the Exarch and as the Bishop.

Bishop Mar Mathew Vaniakizhakkel VC was appointed on 14 January,2000, consecrated and installed as Bishop of Satna on 12 April,2000


Bishop's House
P. B. No. 22, Satna
M.P. 485 001
Tel : 07672 - 224167
Fax : 07672 - 225667
E Mail :

Bishop : Mar Mathew Vaniakizhakkel

Tel      : 07672 - 224167
           : 07672 - 225506 (P)
E Mail :

Bishop Emeritus : Mar Abraham D. Mattam

Vincentian Generalate
P.B. No. 2250, Edappally
Kochi 682 024, Kerala
Tel     : 0484 - 3244491
         : 9447600808
E Mail


Patron - St. Vincent de Paul
Diocesan Area - 45,147 Sq. Kms
Total Population - 71,80,655
Catholics - 2493
Non Catholic Christians - 2540
Languages - Hindi, Baghelkhandi, Bundelkhandi, Urdu,Malayalam

Created by: ipsr solutions ltd © 2006